Wisconsin AHEC Hosts 9th Annual Interprofessional Case Competition Virtually

On January 6th-7th, 2022, Wisconsin Area Health Education Centers (WI AHEC) virtually hosted its ninth annual Interprofessional Case Competition (IPCC). This traditionally in-person event brought together interdisciplinary teams of health professions students across multiple professional schools and programs, both private and public, to develop and present a proposed solution to a healthcare challenge. Eight teams were selected out of 17, all of which competed for a $3,000 first-place cash prize. The finalist teams were judged by a panel comprising of interprofessional leaders within Wisconsin’s healthcare community.

Student teams were assigned a case study comprising of a complex healthcare dilemma, in which each team was expected to work together for two months to conduct an analysis of interprofessional efforts during the care of a patient within the community. The top teams then virtually presented their recommendations for enhanced interprofessional collaboration to the panel of judges.

The panel consisted of the following community healthcare champions: Megan Cory, Medical Resident at Medical College of Wisconsin; Kari Decorah, Co-Director at Options Counseling Services; Andy Felton, Assistant Professor at University of Wisconsin-Stout; Roger Rego, Finance Director at Bridge Community Health Clinic; Kristin Stearns, Chief Executive Officer at Lakeshore Community Health Clinic.

Cash prizes were awarded to the top three teams. First place ($3,000) was awarded to a team representing Northeastern AHEC: Chris Naas (Master of Public Health, Medical College of Wisconsin), Paulina Gutkin (Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin), Brian Conway (Clinical Translational Science, Medical College of Wisconsin), Sean Farrell (Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin).

Second place ($2,000) was secured by a team representing Milwaukee and Southeastern AHEC: Shadika Panta (Biology, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee), Nawara Abufares (Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin), Katelyn Wagner (Occupation Therapy, Mount Marry College).

Third place ($1,000) went to a team representing South Central AHEC: Allison Bucheger (Community Health Education, University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse), Heun Min (Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin), Kalley Carlson (Public Health, University of Wisconsin-Madison), Sarah Uhm (Public Health, University of Wisconsin-Madison), Janani Sundar (Medicine, University of Wisconsin-Madison).

WI AHEC also hosted a reflection session for the students to discuss their experience, and how these teamwork skills will apply to their future interprofessional practice.