University of Wisconsin–Madison
Area Health Education Centers
Area Health Education Centers

North Central

North Central Wisconsin remains the heart of “America’s Dairyland,” as well as the cranberry, potato and ginseng growing areas. It also includes major papermaking, insurance and pre-fabricated home building industries.

The North Central AHEC region served by two Community Health Centers (Family Health Centers of Marshfield and Bridge CHC in Wausau) with eleven service delivery sites. The many small communities in the region are also served by eight rural health clinics and eight Critical Access Hospitals.

There is one school of nursing (UW-Eau Claire) located in the region, although several schools outside the region seek clinical placements for their students at hospitals in the area. The region is also served by three technical colleges providing educational programs leading to RN, CNA and EMT certification, as well as a variety of health technician occupations. UWSMPH uses the Marshfield Clinic, and major regional hospitals at Marshfield, Wausau and Eau Claire for medical student rotations in inpatient care, as well as numerous community sites for the required primary care clerkship and fourth year preceptorship.

For more information about North Central AHEC, visit the North Central AHEC web site.

Featured Programs

Health Careers Camp 

Link to more information


At A Glance


622, 581 (11% of state)

Serving 11 Counties:

Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Marathon, Pepin, Pierce, Portage, Taylor, Waupaca, and Wood.

Health Professional Shortage Areas:

9 counties contain Primary Care HPSAs

6 counties are Mental Health HPSAs

7 counties contain Dental HPSAs



North Central WI AHEC

10208 Park Plaza Suite D
Rothschild, WI 54474

Visit Website


Christina Patrin
Executive Director
(715) 849-2432

Email Christina Patrin

Noelle Kolar
Financial Coordinator and Program Assistant
(715) 849-2432

Email Noelle Kolar