The Wisconsin Area Health Education Center (AHEC) program earned national recognition as the 2016 recipient of the Eugene S. Mayer Program of Excellence Award from the National AHEC organization (NAO).

The Program of Excellence award is given biennially to an AHEC program that exemplifies community and university partnerships, program comprehensiveness, responsiveness to community needs, and has had a significant impact on improving access to health care for citizens in its state. This recognition is the culmination of many smaller awards the Wisconsin AHEC system has received over the years for regional programs and statewide events.

The award was presented on Tuesday, June 28th, 2016 at the NAO biennial conference in Washington DC. Nancy Sugden, Assistant Dean at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health and Program Director for Wisconsin AHEC, accepted the award on behalf of the directors and staff of Wisconsin AHEC’s seven regional Centers (Beloit, Cashton, Manitowoc, Marengo, Milwaukee, Rhinelander, and Rothschild), their governing board and the Statewide AHEC Board.

“It is especially gratifying to receive this award as we celebrate Wisconsin AHEC’s 25th year,” said Nancy Sugden. “We have enjoyed the steadfast support of the UW School of Medicine and Public Health through those 25 years, and many, many individuals, academic programs and partner organizations have contributed to the development of our AHEC System and its signature programs.  What I find most remarkable about Wisconsin AHEC, however, is the degree of collaboration among our seven regional AHEC centers for program development and implementation. Shared programming and a cooperative spirit have enabled us to make the most of limited resources and build the program.”

For the Full News Release

Award Nomination